Posted by: devonellington | February 22, 2016

Writing Bliss

I am someone who actually loves the physicality of writing. There are so many writers who moan and groan that they have to actually sit down and, oh horrors, WRITE their book.

I love it. Yes, there are tough days and frustrating days, but the daily sitting down and creating is fulfilling to me.

Right now, in the current book, I’ve hit that zone. The place where I think about the book when I’m doing other things, where I can’t wait to get up in the morning to meet the page, and where I add in extra night-writing sessions, because I can’t wait to get back home to the book at the end of the day.

It’s not the early-book frenzy, where everything pours out. It’s the steady building of a book. The brick-by-brick, moving the story forward, epiphanies as you go, knowing your characters well enough to trust them to take you through to the end. When the rhythm feels right. Feels good.

That doesn’t mean I believe I won’t have to edit – I know this draft will need major revisions before it’s submission-ready. But it’s also the stage where I smile and say, “I’m glad I’m writing THIS book.”

You want motivation to achieve your goals, dreams, and resolutions? Find a vocation that fills you with passion and bliss. The motivation will come naturally.

Leave a Reply

Categories

