Posted by: devonellington | January 15, 2016

January Mid-Month Check In

I don’t know about you, but it’s already been a whirlwind for me, and the year’s just started.

The big news is that my wonderful publisher, Amber Quill Press, has decided to close its doors as of March 30. If you don’t have the short pieces — LAKE JUSTICE, SEVERANCE, ELUSIVE PRAYERS, or the collection KILLER QUINTET, or the first Gwen Finnegan mystery, TRACKING MEDUSA — hop on over to Amber Quill or to Amazon and grab your copies.

I’m in conference with my advisors as how to best move forward — do we try to move to another publishing house? Do we issue the books independently? Whatever happens, once the doors close and I get the rights back, there will be a break before it happens.

That meant revising my year-long writing plan. I had three books scheduled to go to them this year, all Gwen Finnegan books. I’ve been struggling with BALTHAZAAR TREASURE for months — now the pressure is off, and I can figure out what’s wrong with it and fix it.

But those three books are off the official schedule.

It means I can move up two books that had been further down on the schedule. Instead of slotting them in late in the year, I can bump them up, diving back into them as soon as DEATH OF A CHOLERIC and TIE-CUTTER are finished.

Instead of a year of publication, this will be a year of polish and submission, which is good. These books take me in a different direction and force me to grow in interesting ways. I’m excited about that.

There’s always a worry about having material go out of print. But I just have to trust that it will all work out.

That means knocking BALTHAZAAR off my to-do list, at least for the moment. I’m no longer under deadline pressure. I can put it away for awhile, then return to it with fresh eyes, and hopefully fix what wasn’t working in it.

I also let go of the tango lessons. Yes, I enjoy it; however, with everything else going on, it felt like more “obligation pressure” instead of something joyful. It was making me tense. So, for the moment, I’ve let go of it, and hope to get back to it in the future.

I’m restructuring my writing schedule for the year. I’m excited, because it gives me a chance to focus on the new directions I started to explore.

I’m halfway through the short radio play, and on track for that. I’m still working on TIE CUTTER and DEATH OF A CHOLERIC, and on track for that.

I adapted “Light Behind the Eyes” from the BBC version to the US version, so it can be registered and go out this week. I’m getting ready to adapt “Confidence Confidant” into radio format.

I need to get back on track on the series of short stories. I’ve started to work on the reformatting of one radio play, and expanding the one act into a full-length. I also have someone interested in the one-act adapted into a radio play. So, I’m on track there.

The evening yoga practice is going well, but I’m behind in unpacking/purging the boxes!

I got out two pitches. One was for two play ideas, both of which have been accepted. One is due on June 1 and one on November 1. They are now in the writing schedule (now that there’s room) and research for the first one started this week.

The second pitch was an opportunity I came across via Twitter. I sent the pitch. It was acknowledged and made the first cut, so we’ll see where we go from there. Fingers crossed.

I made one submission. I won’t hear back on that for at least four months.

But, overall, although it’s a rockier start to 2016 than I’d like, it’s a good one!

Responses

  1. […] on over to Goals, Dreams, and Resolutions, and see how I’m doing for the mid-month […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

