Posted by: devonellington | January 1, 2011

Goals, Dreams, and Resolutions for 2011

Last year was so far off-track from what I expected that I lost track in February and never really caught up. Many wonderful things happened, but unexpectedly. For that I am grateful, but there were no questions in fall (everything was about the move), so I simply took some time to think in the past week or so about how I want to form my 2011.

Goals:
Query, market, and sell the backlog of writing
Do everything I can to make sure that ASSUMPTION OF RIGHT is a success when it releases
Write 3 novels
Finish at least 3 WIPS and prep for submission
Write 6 short stories
Write 1 play
Spend the time and learn enough to create a beautiful garden
Re-design my websites
Move hosts
Grow my freelance writing business in both the fiction and non-fiction elements
Continue and grow the teaching aspect of my work
Find a good local yoga studio and attend class regularly
Start putting aside money so I can own my own house
Add another cat to the household when the time is right
Volunteer with nature and animal-oriented organizations in the area

Dreams:
Earn the bulk of my income from fiction and plays — and that it’s more than enough on which to live comfortably
Own my own home
Remain healthy

Resolutions:
Have more fun!
Stay true to my writing.
Continue to work my way out of debt and then remain debt-free
Grow and deepen my yoga practice even more, and add other enjoyable elements to my fitness regime
Keep a Gratitude List to remind me of all the good things that happen each day

Responses

  1. “Debt free” is on my wish list too, but it won’t happen this year – unless I get the same amount of work off the annual people for May onwards that I already have for Jan – Apr. I’d like to be in the position of “do I buy a car or do I clear my debt?” The car will be brand new and my argument is that I need the car to get to work to earn the money to pay my debts, and if I clear the debt I still have to earn the money to pay my mortgage. I’m also spening money on my current car that’s adding no value – I’ll never get that money back. It would be great to clear the debt AND buy the car. That’s a definite dream to be in that position.


Leave a Reply

Categories

