Posted by: devonellington | January 5, 2009

Two New Resolutions

I’ve added two new resolutions to my list.

The first, and most important, is to stay on top of email, sort it and archive it every day, and check my pending folder once a week. I get approximately 500 legitimate emails per day, and I have to stay organized about them.

The second resolution is to keep a cordial distance from wanna-bes. The bottom line is that actual, professional writers WRITE. They don’t write “whenever they feel like it” and they don’t make excuses. For my own mental health, I need to stay away from writing-energy vampires. I’ll be pleasant, but not caught up in their excuses. As a colleague of mine says, “Who cares about the writers who can’t be bothered to write? Less competition for slots for the rest of us.” Perhaps it’s not the kindest take on the matter, but I am DONE.

Responses

  1. Those sound like viable resolutions that will help you remain focused on your own writing and keeping in touch with those who actually write.


Leave a Reply

Categories

